The QMC editing process

11As I was responsible for the edit for the Queens Medical Centre edit, I was in charge of all of the post production. This included organising all of the footage and photos, alongside the editing of the video. To make this process well organised, I created several different folders within a folder to help me determine what was what. An example of this is splitting three diffe rent files up for the three cameras we used, I knew what footage was from what specific camera.

For the edit, I used Sony Vegas Pro 10 which is my personal favourite as I have the experience using it. I would have preferred to use Avid Media Composer to make it more professional, using software that is used in the industry, but I wasn’t able to get access of the programme easily. I kept the timeline to a minimum, deleting unnecessary tracks as I went along, to keep the footage well organised to avoid confusion.

22

It was important to choose the right music for the video, happy and uplifting tracks to keep the audience interested. I researched in to different videos that are related, to have an insight on what kind of music is used. I went on several royalty free websites for un-copyrighted music.

HSL Adjust, colour curves and sharpening were the three major video effects I used, to make the shots look more saturated and less bland. As you can see on the before and after screenshots, I feel that I succeeded to accomplish this.3344

The only major issue I had during the post production process is my slow laptop. This caused a lot of problems for me, such as the computer closing down randomly when rendering, and being slow during the editing. To overcome this I had to be patient and accepting of the type of computer I was using for such big files, which caused the laptop to respond in a slow way.

Leave a Reply

