New College: Podcast Reflective Thinking.

Pre-Production:

During pre-production I conducted  research related to the club Ocean, situated in Nottingham. The research that I carried out included history and facts and figures about the club, also what their target audience is. I created a script to follow during the recording of the podcast, it wasn’t to read from word for word, but bullet points for me to cover during the podcast.As I am aware of my pre-productuction process (from previous assignments during and outside university hours), it was quick for me to research the right topics for my interviews and overall podcast.

Production:

The interviews went particually well, covering all the topics that I had researched during pre-production. I feel the interviews flowed well, making the interviewees feel comfortable throughout to get the best interview out of them. The questions I had planned to ask were all said, including more questions during the conversation styled interviews. For example, one of the interviewees is a close friend of mine and it was easy to make a friendly, comfortable conversation. One thing I would change is the second interview that I conducted. I would interview Abbie again as the conversation wasn’t as great as the first. It didn’t change the podcast too much as she was a back-up interview so it still sounds professional. I will be arranging another date and time with her to interview again within the next week.

Post Production:

Watching Adobe Autition tutorials on Youtube helped a lot during the Post-Production process.  I watched educational videos on how sound correct audio clips for radio podcasts, also how to make a hard-hitting introduction. Once I had edited all of my radio show together, I asked several peers to listen and give me adivce. This was taken on board and a couple of changes were made, such as adding more backing tracks to make it more relatable when talking about the genres that are played in the Ocean nightclub. As I am a fond and experienced editor, Adobe Audition wasn’t a hard software to use for me. From previous experience, I am aware that sound is very important within video and radio so adjusting the levels made a positive impact. I had some issues with mixcloud to upload my podcast on as they only allow cfiles that are over 12MB, so instead I uploaded it to Soundcloud which worked well.

Screen Shot 2015-11-25 at 10.30.16.png

Adobe Audition editing process

Leave a Reply

