Greenall’s Gin App Design – Testing My Experimentations

I have been experimenting with different themes/ colours within the process of designing an app for Greenall’s Gin. The intentions of the app are to relate to the posters I have created, by giving the user more information and ideas to what cocktails they can make with the gin, complimenting the UK season. This has led me on to another idea – adding the app information on the posters as part of a ‘call to action’ which will be added shortly. Below are experimentations of my app design;

Screen Shot 2017-03-14 at 20.31.51
Figure 1 – Loading screen draft 1
Screen Shot 2017-03-14 at 20.32.11
Figure 2 – Loading screen draft 2
Screen Shot 2017-03-14 at 20.32.29
Figure 3 – Screen 2 draft 1

Within the design process it is important for me to experiment and test different designs i.e different colours, backgrounds designs etc. Learning from the first draft of the loading screen, I soon realised there was no Greenall’s logo (which is specifically asked to use on their brief) and the colours couldn’t really be seen. Initially, the type colours were neon green but after getting advice from graphics students, I changed the colours to match the Greenall’s branding to keep consistent. There was another design I created which had a background of the London skyline to make it look British, but it didn’t look like a cocktail app so soon experimented with backgrounds like the above that clearly show beverages so the audience knows straight away what the app is for.

Figures 2 and 3 display the second screen where the user will pick what season it is, which will then lead to Greenall’s Gin cocktail recipes that will compliment the season they choose. As you can see by the design, the background doesn’t particularly compliment the text colours as seem hard to see and due to this, I will keep on experimenting and testing my progression until I feel the design looks sleek.

Leave a comment